



Insperity Invitational

The Woodlands Country Club | The Woodlands, Texas | April 30-May 2, 2021

Media Contact

Connor Stange, connorstange@pgatourhq.com, 402-560-3758

Quick Facts

- Golf Course: The Woodlands Country Club (Tournament Course)
- Par: 72; Yardage: 7,002
- Designed by: Robert von Hagge / Bruce Devlin (1982)
- Purse: \$2,200,000 (Winner: \$330,000)
- Golf Channel Coverage: Friday, Noon-2 p.m. ET; Saturday & Sunday, 3:00-6:00 p.m. ET
- Quick Links: <u>Tournament Field</u> | <u>Tee Times</u>
- Social Media: Twitter (@InsperityInvtnl), Instagram (@insperityinvitational), Facebook (@InsperityInvitational)

Field Overview (as of 4/28/21)

PGA TOUR Champions returns to action this week at the Insperity Invitational for the fourth tournament of the 2021 calendar year. After no tournament was held in 2020, the Insperity Invitational returns to the Houston area for the 17th time in 2021. The Woodlands Country Club's Tournament Course will play host to the event for the 13th time.

Each champion from the last eight Insperity Invitationals will tee it up this week, including four-time winner **Bernhard Langer** and defending champion (2019) **Scott McCarron**. The Insperity Invitational is the first of three consecutive weeks of events on PGA TOUR Champions, continuing at next week's Regions Tradition before the Mitsubishi Electric Classic, May 14-16.

- 11 members of the World Golf Hall of Fame (Ernie Els, Retief Goosen, Tom Kite, Bernhard Langer, Davis Love III, Sandy Lyle, Colin Montgomerie, Mark O'Meara, Jose Maria Olazabal, Vijay Singh, Mike Weir)
- 62 PGA TOUR winners with 391 total career victories
- 51 PGA TOUR Champions winners with 258 total career victories
- 23 with a PGA TOUR Champions major title
- 21 with a PGA TOUR major title
- 5 players who won the Vivint Houston Open when it was played at The Woodlands Country Club: Corey Pavin (1984), Jay Haas (1987), Fred Funk (1992), Mark Brooks (1996) and Vijay Singh (2002).

2019 Recap

Scott McCarron made three birdies on the back nine of the final round en route to a two-stroke victory over **Scott Parel** at the 2019 Insperity Invitational. After Parel birdied Nos. 11 and 12 to even the score at 14-under, McCarron responded with back-to-back birdies of his own to rebuild a two-shot lead through 14.

McCarron birdied the 185-yard 16th, hitting an 8-iron to a foot, and regained a two-shot lead with two holes to play. A par-par finish secured McCarron's second win of the 2019 season, marking his fourth consecutive year with multiple victories on PGA TOUR Champions. He went on to win the Charles Schwab Cup and was named the 2019 PGA TOUR Champions Player of the Year.

Sutherland's Hot Streak

Charles Schwab Cup leader **Kevin Sutherland** enters this week with wins in two of his last four starts (2020 Charles Schwab Cup Championship, 2021 Cologuard Classic). He finished T4 in each of his non-wins during that stretch, including the Chubb Classic two weeks ago.

Sutherland, the 2017 Charles Schwab Cup winner, has 24 consecutive rounds of par or better, including 18 rounds in the 60s during that span. During the 2020-21 wrap-around season, Sutherland has two wins and 12 top-10s in 18 starts and he leads the Charles Schwab Cup.

Langer Looks for Fifth Title in Houston

Four-time Insperity Invitational champion **Bernhard Langer** (2007, 2008, 2014, 2018) is set to make his 13th start at this event. In addition to his four wins, Langer has a pair of T4 finishes (2009, 2012), having never finished outside of the top 25 in the Insperity Invitational.

With a win this week, Langer would move within one of the PGA TOUR Champions record for most wins at one tournament, as Hale Irwin won the Turtle Bay Championship six times. In addition to Langer, who has also won The Senior Open Championship four times, two other players have earned four wins at one tournament (Irwin, KitchenAid Senior PGA Championship; and Jack Nicklaus, Regions Tradition).

Langer, a five-time Charles Schwab Cup winner, has 41 wins on PGA TOUR Champions. He is four wins away from tying Irwin for the most wins in Champions Tour history.

Major Champions Among 18 Players Making Insperity Invitational Debut

Five major champions highlight the list of 18 players making their Insperity Invitational debut this week. Four-time major champion **Ernie Els** joins 2003 U.S. Open champion **Jim Furyk**, 1997 PGA Champion **Davis Love III**, 2003 Masters champion **Mike Weir** and 2002 PGA Champion **Rich Beem** as first-timers at this event.

Els, Furyk and Weir are each in the top 20 of the Charles Schwab Cup in their first season on PGA TOUR Champions. Furyk is one of three players to win his first two starts on Tour (2020 Ally Challenge, 2020 PURE Insurance Championship), and he's currently 7th in the Schwab Cup, while Els is No. 3 in the standings after wins at the 2020 Hoag Classic and the 2020 SAS Championship. Weir has five top-10s and a pair of runner-up finishes and he enters the week No. 16 in the Charles Schwab Cup.

Three Players Set to Make PGA TOUR Champions Debut

Denmark's **Thomas Bjorn**, Australia's **John Senden** and **Matt Gogel** (United States) are each making their debut on PGA TOUR Champions this week.

- Bjorn, who turned 50 on February 18, won 13 times on the European Tour, including a three-win season in 2011. He also served as captain for the European Ryder Cup Team in 2018.
- Senden, who turned 50 on April 20, won twice on the PGA TOUR, claiming victories at the 2006 John Deere Classic and 2014 Valspar Championship.
- Gogel, who turned 50 on February 9, won the 2002 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am, his lone victory on the PGA TOUR.

Past Champions in the Field

The 81-player field includes eight past champions who have combined to win the Insperity Invitational 11 times: Scott McCarron (2019), Bernhard Langer (2007, 2008, 2014, 2018), John Daly (2017), Jepser Parnevik (2016), Ian Woosnam (2015), Esteban Toledo (2013), Fred Funk (2012) and Jay Haas (2006).

| 2020 | No tournament |
|------|-----------------------|
| 2019 | Scott McCarron (-17) |
| 2018 | Bernhard Langer (-11) |
| 2017 | John Daly (-14) |
| 2016 | Jesper Parnevik (-12) |
| 2015 | lan Woosnam (-11)* |
| 2014 | Bernhard Langer (-11) |
| 2013 | Esteban Toledo (-6)* |
| 2012 | Fred Funk (-14) |
| 2011 | Brad Faxon (-10) |
| 2010 | Fred Couples (-17) |
| 2009 | John Cook (-11) |
| 2008 | Bernhard Langer (-12) |
| 2007 | Bernhard Langer (-25) |
| 2006 | Jay Haas (-16) |
| 2005 | Mark McNulty (-16) |
| 2004 | Larry Nelson (-14)* |
| | |

* Playoff